Gaming Thoughts: September 2017

Why do I only want to play WoW when I’m least able to? I’ve had zero craving for it for almost 6 months and now it’s almost October and because I’m about to go back to uni… I want to play.

Except I also don’t want to play. And I guess that’s okay.

My issue is really the same as it’s always been, a combo of three things:

  1. I don’t have time to play the way I want to and do all the content I wish I could do;
  2. I don’t really enjoy the way the story is going
  3. I’m terrible at time management and have no idea how much time I should be putting aside for WoW vs work.

I really, badly want to play, but at the same time I don’t know how to start and manage my time well. But… I have to learn how to effectively manage my time well. Putting this off is not going to help.

And probably, the best thing to do if I want to create a healthy video gaming habit, rather than ignoring it, is regular check-ins. So… I guess, consider this the start of an ongoing series.

Moving forward, I think I should outline a few things that I want as goals to aim for:

  1. I’d like to not get bogged down in a ‘chore’ list, but rather outline a weekly or long-term goal to pursue.
  2. I’m going to do, on a daily basis, what strikes my fancy rather than feeling obligated to do something.
  3. It would be nice to raid once a week.
  4. It is impossible to multi-main in this expansion, so I will focus on finishing class quests and levelling professions on my alts.
  5. If I’m bored and want to level an alt rather than play a main, I’m not going to feel bad about it.

Therefore, I’m going to try limiting myself to 1 1/2 hours on weekdays, and 3 hours on weekends – and re-look at these goals midway through term. Wish me luck!

Leave a comment